A dissertation to negotiate your future?

For my last post on Conflict and Negotiation, I would like to target students in order to talk about the importance of the Dissertation to negotiate your future.

After all, this 10,000 piece of work represents 70% of our third year final grade and it takes A LOT of our time researching, interviewing and writing.

Messy+bedroom

Student falls asleep in library

As a matter of fact, it should help us to negotiate our future, give us a bit of help regarding our future job, don’t you think?

Negotiation has a lot of definitions, but some of them are:

  • To sell our abilities.
  • To succeed in going over.
  • To succeed in accomplishing or managing.
    (Source: thefreedictionary.com)

 

Depending on the topic chosen, it might be related to your dream job for some of you.

It is for me.

And in my opinion it can reveal promising talent and convince a future employer to hire YOU and not someone else. It is important to write on a specific topic for one year, to think about it every single day and to analyse it in-depth. It demonstrates your skills to identity a research question adapted to a precise topic with a testable hypothesis and a valid conclusion.

For those of you who choose randomly a topic that doesn’t passionate you, what are your motivations?

You can also discover throughout your research that this area is not for you, and therefore negotiate a smart decision with yourself regarding your future career. You see, dissertation is all about  making choice, either for yourself or for your future. As a matter of fact, it is a really important step in our student’s life, don’t you think?

What about you? What does the dissertation mean to you?

Do you think it helps you to negotiate your professional life? 

Some people are becoming a bit crazy during this hard period of writing the dissertation: 

I didn’t even know it exists but here is what I found to help us to keep concentration (haha):

18 thoughts on “A dissertation to negotiate your future?

  1. I couldn’t help but smile the moment I read about discovering throughout the dissertation research that this area is not for you. I still can’t make my mind up about this. I chose my dissertation subject last year and I was extremely passionate about it. I think I started losing my motivation after the 1,457th time I had to research for it. No matter how passionate you are about something, you will at times lack motivation to complete it and you will get fed up with it. This doesn’t mean that you still don’t find the area of research interesting in general.

    I think of the dissertation as an important step not necessarily because you will base your future career on it, but because you get to know yourself through the process. This might sound a bit philosophical, however, I think it is entirely true. You not only discover your limits (yes, I am referring to the times that you are banging your head against the library wall.), you also get to discover new areas that you might be interested in. It motivates a series of questions within you.. Would I like to be doing this for the rest of my life? Is there something I would enjoy more? And the list goes on.

    I think that our dissertation will help us negotiate at the workplcae in the future, regardless of how passionate we are about our chosen subject. It gives us the opportunity to find our inner strengths and makes us more confident so we can go out there and negotiate a job offer.

    By the way, I really enjoyed the first video… I think my celebration activities will only include sleep.. for the next hundent years 🙂

  2. Hello ‘Hint of Spin’ and thank you for your comment 🙂

    The reaction you had concerning your dissertation topic is that maybe you had enough about it already even if you are still interested about the topic, which is very understandable.

    You are completely right when you are saying you learn to discover your limit and yourself, this is the feeling I have as well. And it helps you looking for the job or work placement you are interested in. In my opinion, it guides you in a certain way.
    Can you say you found an interesting area you would like to work in thanks to your dissertation?

    Have a good day 🙂

  3. Hello again 🙂

    I suppose it did help me in a way. I have always been interested in the pharmaceutical/ medical industry. My original plan was to become a doctor, but unfortunately I couldn’t do the maths… so I thought I will approach my old dream through PR. This is exactly what I love about PR, it so versatile! The dissertation has helped me to find areas that I wouldn’t want to work in. I am not saying that I am not interested in the medical industry anymore, but it has identified working styles I would be interested in and some that I am not so keen on.

    Regarding the work placement I am interested in.. Remains to be seen! 🙂

  4. My dissertation didn’t help me negotiate a job. The general feedback I hear from PR’s is that you’ve got to start at the bottom – internships/work placements – impress them enough and you might just get your first job!

    Relaxing music helped my dissertation immensely! Highly reccomend Ludovico Einaudi – Islands 🙂

    • Haha thank you Claire for your comment 🙂 So your dissertation was not related with the job you have now? Can you say it helped you at least?

      Have a lovely day !

  5. Hello, really nice post!

    I am studying advertising for my degree, but have always been interested in learning more about people’s behaviour with regards to psychology and sociology. I wanted a reason to study something related to that so I made up this question:
    “How does Lacan’s theory of the ‘mirror phase’ and Baudrillard’s concept of the ‘simulacra’ contribute to an appreciation of how consumers use commodities in relation to identity?’
    It’s actually very challenging and in some respects I regret choosing a subject that I have barely any previous knowledge about. However, hopefully in my future career in advertising, I will be able to translate my findings in psychoanalysis and consumer culture to help create successful campaigns. …and plus, it’s good to challenge yourself, because I know when I do eventually finish it I’m going to be over the moon!

    Lily Marie

    • Hello and thank you for your comment 🙂 It is really interesting that you chose a topic completely different from your degree. Sure it is a lot of work but it will help you for sure in the future, especially if you want to work in this area ! Moreover it can be related to advertising at some point, which is good. I hope you won’t regret your choice 🙂
      So you definitely think that your dissertation will help you in your future career?

      Marion

      • I don’t think it will help directly, but if I apply it whenever I can hopefully I will benefit from it. It can’t be bad studying consumer culture and psychoanalysis when looking to go into marketing 🙂
        Lily

      • Yes sure thing! It can be really interesting and bring a lot of relevant and different idea. Thank you very much for giving me your view 🙂 It is good to see that some people do their dissertation on a topic they like and that will benefit them rather than picking anything just to be done with Uni 🙂

        Marion

  6. When you go to an interview you should keep in mind that the only thing you want is to get this job and to do so, you have to justify yourself by giving reasons of your ambition.
    I think dissertations are just one more string to people’s bow. It is a great tool to show who you are, what drives you and what you want.
    However, dissertations can only be an useful tool if the topic has been thought and wanted.
    If that’s the case, your interviewer will definitely notice how genuine you are in your job application. Moreover, you’ve worked on it for one year and if you’re really passionate, the dissertation is the ‘plus’ that will differentiate you from the other applicants.

    Obviously you can still succeed without using it but I think that’s one of the most important professional tools universities offer and it would be silly to leave it aside.

    • Thank you Chloé for your comment. Really interesting thoughts here.
      From what you said, I can understand that your dissertation is playing a big role in your future career and in your ambition, which is amazing!

      How do you plan to use your dissertation when applying for a job for example?

      Some Universities don’t use Dissertation for third year students, do you think it can be a good thing as well?

      Have a great day 🙂

      Marion

  7. Hey. My dissertation isn’t going great – as you probably read on my blog, we’ve had no support or help with it. I’m really interested in the topic and field but I’m not convinced it’ll help in the future, especially since I can’t afford to study the subject at a higher level. Whilst it’s useful to show that you can persevere with a subject, whether you like it at the end or not, and that you can write well etc, I’m sure there are more appropriate ways in many subjects to better show the things you’ve learned and done and your talents than a long piece of writing.

    • Hello and thank you for your comment. Yes I read in your blog that your supervisor was not from a big help … However I am sure you can find support with someone else. Some other teachers might be interested in your topic and give you some support.
      What do you mean by ‘other appropriate ways to better show the things you’ve learned and done’? What comes to your mind?

      Marion

      • Hi.I’ve had to ask a lecturer who has replaced the missing supervisor in the lectures he was supposed to take for information. I’m grateful for the help because it isn’t really her place to help with our dissertations, but it’s better than nothing. What I meant by “other appropriate ways” would probably vary by subject, but let’s take archaeology. Instead of doing a dissertation you could write a smaller dissertation, and then perhaps have a piece of work involving a mock museum exhibition, or do more practical work such as a dig. Not all archaeology is linked to writing reports and such.

        Perhaps the final year assessment, the dissertation credits I mean, could consist of several smaller assessments, such as a piece of research, a presentation, a display, instead of a single but massive piece of work.

      • That is interesting 🙂 I know not all the Universities are asking for a dissertation. And some of them give you the choice between a dissertation and a project. But you are right, for some degrees, it is more appropriate to do a practical assignment instead. Thank you for your comment 🙂

  8. Hey,

    I’m doing my dissertation on the social consequences of the Norman Conquest. I’m not sure it will help me much in the future with careers, but it is an area that has interested me for years. During my teenage years I was obsessed with an author who based her novel upon medieval England and one of my favourites was on the Conquest. My dissertation has given me immense personal satisfaction and helped me realise more about the period than what I learnt in a fictional novel.

    This article was interesting for opening my eyes to how other students are using their dissertation to develop and prompted me to reflect again on why I picked my subject. This is something I needed to do in the run-up to deadlines as I’m losing previous fondness for the topic.

Leave a Reply

